carldeyarmin.wordpress.com

112 – Update

2 Comments

As I mentioned in the previous post, the information my eldest child shared with me still needed to be confirmed, and at the time of writing, I had a choice to either confirm the factoid of the day, or write about it.

I have since looked at his source material. In it, all of the countries of the world are listed, and in addition to land size and currency, the spoken languages of each country are listed. It was a little tedious, but I thought it worthwhile to properly inform the boy and those of you reading this.

Here is what I found: there are 86 countries that have English as one of its spoken languages (I can only attribute the difference in my numbers to his as being the result of late night grogginess). The other distinction to make is that these 86 countries recognize English as one of the languages spoken, but not all 86 have English as its “official” language.

Do with this as you see fit.

2 thoughts on “112 – Update

  1. I just found your email with the newsletter attached. I must have missed it before. So I just read it! Thank you! Now I get to read your blog too!

  2. What a great son you have!!

Leave a Reply

