carldeyarmin.wordpress.com

White Unto Harvest

Leave a comment

At the end of this month, I have the distinct privilege of speaking at a conference being hosted by the NCFIC at Ridgecrest Conference Center in North Carolina called White Unto Harvest. The purpose of the conference is “to unpack the Great Commission, as it applies to the individual, the home, and the church. There is no more powerful force at work in the world than the life-saving, culture-transforming, disciple making power of the gospel of Jesus Christ.”

Over 40 speakers are scheduled to deliver messages that do just that. They are coming from all over the US, as well as from Turkey and Zambia. I am honored to have the opportunity to share a message, but I am even more thrilled to be able to learn from disciplined and devoted men for the duration of the conference. I have been tasked (I should probably find a better word than that – “tasked” makes it sound like a chore – truly though it is a privilege) with preaching a message entitled “What is True Conversion? – Fruit”. I’ve discovered in preparation for the message that the topic could be a conference unto itself; however, I am being limited to just one hour. (Do make sure you check out the other message topics being addressed)

This topic has generated some lively discussions among several groups I have shared it with. Ranging from theological to historical to exegetical to practical. I’m blessed with the men who have provided invaluable input. I’ll admit though that I somewhat wish I had not asked them, only because with the amount of stellar feedback they provided me, I’m longing for an extension of my 60 minute window.

It is a joy to be asked to be a part of the conference, and to serve as a very, very unofficial representative for Village Missions, as in, if I am asked informally about Village Missions, I’ll be able to tell them and perhaps give away some info. In many ways, the purpose of the conference and the mission of Village Missions dovetail very nicely with each other. I’m hopeful that there will be much to be able to use in our field here, and also hopeful that there will be some benefit to Village Missions. One of those I hope to see is this: presently, there are no open Village Missions fields east of the Mississippi. Surely there is a rural church in need of a pastor that Village Missions could provide.

At some point after the conference, most (if not all) of the messages will be made available in audio format, and some available in print format. I’d encourage you to come to White Unto Harvest, but if you are unable to do so, do make plans to grab the messages once they become available. Depending on tech abilities and permission, I may do a little live blogging from the event to synthesize all that is happening.

Leave a Reply

